Following a Dream in 2017 – Day 29 of 100

shot-6

One step forward, one step back. I posted a live Facebook video today, my second art showing, and I’m quickly realizing that this is going to take work to perfect the world of live broadcast media. My tone was dull, my pitch was off, and one of my lights shut off after I accidently kicked out the cord. Oh my… And all of it was live!

The first story I ever wrote was called Skin of Iron. That tale wasn’t worth the paper on which it was printed (it was about a man who defuses bombs for a living), but the title has stuck with me through the  years because it rings true. Skin of Iron. That’s exactly what it takes to put yourself out in public and showcase your art for others to see. Some will love it. Some won’t. Most won’t even know it exists because it’s just another drop of water in an ocean of activity that consumes their day. I was told many years ago that if you cannot do your art alone and be happy with it, then you are never going to survive when you expose that same art to strangers for their views on what you’ve produced. The pleasure must come from within first. Only then can you have the skin of iron when others call your work crap, or brilliant, or inconsequential. And it will happen. Trust me. Again, and again, and again.

One step forward, one step back.

-Vincent Lowry (Author of American Vineyard and #LucysLetter)

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

