Following a Dream in 2017 – Day 95 of 100

Poppy Preserve (1 of 1)

I’ve never enjoyed the business end of selling art. The pricing of it. The search for new customers. The pitching and convincing that always leaves me feeling like a used car salesman who is pulling a fast one to make a quick buck. I know I’m one of millions who feels this way. The term “starving artist” exists for a very good reason–we are passionate about creating art, yet often terrible at profiting from it. It’s well known that some of the most famous paintings today come from artists who had to pass on first before those same paintings became desirable.

It’s a part of the game, I know. Any writer, photographer, filmmaker, painter, or musician knows that the creative track is probably one of the most difficult careers one can choose. And we also know we are lucky that our lives aren’t in danger like those in law enforcement and defense. That knowledge helps put things in perspective during the difficult times, but it still doesn’t pay the bills at the end of the day. Only sales will do the job.

I have no idea if I’ll ever master business part it, or if I will continually find myself frustrated with my results. I’ll continue to try new strategies and tips and see what works best just like any businessman would do with the product/service he’s offering. I love the art too much to do otherwise.

-Vincent Lowry

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Following a Dream in 2017 – Day 95 of 100

  1. It’s wonderful that your doing a job that you love and i hope that you be very successful for it at the end of the day

Leave a Reply

